beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
[personal profile] beccaelizabeth
To Be Continued ??!!??! Yes, I knew it was a two parter, but after that ending? VERY GOOD TRICK!!! I mean, that wasn't a cliffhanger, they'd already fallen off the cliff and gone splat!

Oh but it's beautiful. *That* was a season arc. Every single piece they've put together all season... oh that's *beautiful*.

I figured it was the Doctor in the Pandorica. The scariest thing, a trickster, a warrior? That's the Doctor. But I expected him to be already in there. The whole thing as a trap... oh beautiful.

And it takes all his best bits, the things he would figure out, the resources he could access, and tangles it together with what he told Vincent he had, his overconfidence... and what he hasn't named, his pride, what we were all cheering on in the first episode, the big speech, the I've beaten everything and you don't want to mess with me... and it's a clue, because what's the only thing that could bring about an alliance between such sources of hate? The one the all hated.

And even the theoretical good guys, the space police sort of thing, want to lock him up, because they all think, he caused the cracks. Because he's the only one that can pilot the TARDIS.

But the Doctor taught River.

And history can be rewritten...

So we don't know for sure she survives. We don't know for sure *anything* survives.

It is going to require a very, very good trick indeed.


I have a feeling of epic awesome such as I have not felt for... ooooh, the longest time.

Also, my eyes are like OO !



Prisoner Zero. I realised just before the Doctor went in, the Pandorica is supposed to be the oldest prison, so whatever is in it would be the first prisoner, so that would be Prisoner Zero. But who starts numbering with Zero? Except now we've seen the end it makes sense - those dudes with the big eyes, they're from the future, everyone travelled from all over time to be there. So they'd already numbered all their prisoners, so when they go back to before that and put an extra one in, that's prisoner zero. I don't know for sure that's what was intended, because there was also the scary snakey thingy, but it tracks. And then the later prisoners knowing about the earlier one and mocking him for not knowing yet would make sense. But:
Prisoner Zero is escaping.

Through the cracks in time.


See, that would be something that box *isn't* proofed against.



And... things slip out the universe all the time, but if you remember, they can come back.

They're playing with Romans so I'll say it in Latin: Omnia Mutantur, Nihil Interit. Everything changes and nothing is lost. (Learned that from the Sandman comic, said by Roman soldiers).



Rory! Oh, Rory... Oh this season ties together *everywhere*. When I was at the NSFG and talking about the episode with the Daleks the guys were all 'Spitfires! Daleks! Spaaaace! And a boring bit with the robot guy being told to be human.' And the girls were all 'That was the whole point of the episode!!!'
... we wins.
Because a robot guy with the pasted in memories of a dead man was a plenty enough human there, so we watch this one, even after all the Romans go robot, and here's Rory, and he's trying so hard, and he would never want to hurt her, and she remembers...
... and he can't quite hold on.
But he's still enough himself to be horrified by it.
Oh Rory.
... Auton Rory is Rory enough if he acts and feels and chooses like Rory. So, reckon he'll get the chance to choose...

There's one thread for the cliffhanger. Amy got shot, and Roman!Rory is a soldier, but human Rory is a nurse. Because he's proper Rory he'll be able to give her medical treatment. So I have hope for Amy.

I love how he ended up there - all her Roman guys, including Centurion!Rory, pulled out of her memory, by someone with an imperfect understanding of context.


So what other threads are there?


Okay, so, the cracks in time connect everything everywhere, but especially everywhere we've seen a crack. And every episode has been Clues.

Last week and the Doctor getting to keep the keys goes on the Clue pile then?
The Doctor on the Byzantium, wearing a jacket, talking to Amy, telling her to remember what he told her when she was a kid.
... they pulled things from her memory to make parts of that trap. If she remembered things, they'll be there later.
The last thing in Pandora's box was Hope.
... there's something in the box the makers did not intend?
... or is the Hope the Doctor?


Oh I'm so going to watch every single episode again before next week and look for Clues. We know for sure they're there now.



The Doctor telling Amy he lied about why he went back for her. Doesn't it bother you that your life doesn't make sense? A great big house with only Amy in it, and no adults. Who was in all the other rooms? And where did they go? Did the crack eat them? What else did it eat?
Makes a lot more sense of the 4 pshrinks, if she's got slip slide memories and she knows she's lost more than anyone else can remember.
The random crying about Rory, that she can't make sense of? What if there were other people she mourned the same way?



So how long did Liz X live then? When did River go to steal that painting?
Everything ties together. I love that. No wasted bits. Every story made sense on itself but has all these bonus threads to figure out the end with. He told us to look.



I love Doctor Who. Have I mentioned? I really, really, really love Doctor Who.

Date: 2010-06-19 11:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aeron-lanart.livejournal.com
I am glad I only have a week to wait! I'm also very much with you on the I love Doctor Who platform...

Date: 2010-06-20 10:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] shahar-amar.livejournal.com
When did River go to steal that painting?
Inscription says 5145 for both the prison and the gallery. I though she was supposed to be from the 51st century like Jack, not the 52nd. Wasn't that what they said in the library?

This is a very exciting season finale with all the clues and the rewatching on top of the action-cliffie. Very cool, well done, Moffat et all. :D

Profile

beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
beccaelizabeth

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 23 4 56 7
8 9 10111213 14
15 16 17 18 1920 21
2223 2425 26 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 11:45 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios