[syndicated profile] allthingshorror_feed

Posted by /u/klarfaerie-

This was….bad. I love “bad” movies but this was honestly so bad I almost ended it early. I don’t understand how a movie can’t take a game that has 4-6hrs of gameplay and condense all the interesting parts into a cinematic experience. But no. A whole nothing burger.

No atmosphere. No dread. The acting was bizarre at times. The story was done like nobody cared. It could’ve just…never been made.

I’m sorry to anyone involved in the film or any fans of it. But this was abysmal.

submitted by /u/klarfaerie-
[link] [comments]
[syndicated profile] allthingshorror_feed

Posted by /u/MotherHolle

Ready or Not 2

Undertone

Forbidden Fruits

They Will Kill You

Then shows like Something Very Bad Is Going to Happen (awesome).

Is it just chance or is there a reason so many great horror works are coming out at once?

submitted by /u/MotherHolle
[link] [comments]

Thoughts on slowing the fuck down

Mar. 27th, 2026 11:02 am
[syndicated profile] pinboard_pop_fandom_feed

Posted by tonyyet

Companies claiming 100% of their product's code is now written by AI consistently put out the worst garbage you can imagine. Not pointing fingers, but memory leaks in the gigabytes, UI glitches, broken-ass features, crashes: that is not the seal of quality they think it is. And it's definitely not good advertising for the fever dream of having your agents do all the work for you.


Coding agents are sirens, luring you in with their speed of code generation and jagged intelligence, often completing a simple task with high quality at breakneck velocity. Things start falling apart when you think: "Oh golly, this thing is great. Computer, do my work!".

There's nothing wrong with delegating tasks to agents, obviously. Good agent tasks share a few properties: they can be scoped so the agent doesn't need to understand the full system. The loop can be closed, that is, the agent has a way to evaluate its own work. The output isn't mission critical, just some ad hoc tool or internal piece of software nobody's life or revenue depends on. Or you just need a rubber duck to bounce ideas against, which basically means bouncing your idea against the compressed wisdom of the internet and synthetic training data. If any of that applies, you found the perfect task for the agent, provided that you as the human are the final quality gate.

Anything that defines the gestalt of your system, that is architecture, API, and so on, write it by hand. Maybe use tab completion for some nostalgic feels. Or do some pair programming with your agent. Be in the code. Because the simple act of having to write the thing or seeing it being built up step by step introduces friction that allows you to better understand what you want to build and how the system "feels". This is where your experience and taste come in, something the current SOTA models simply cannot yet replace. And slowing the fuck down and suffering some friction is what allows you to learn and grow.
[syndicated profile] pinboard_pop_fandom_feed

Posted by roger

Watch someone backspace 40 characters instead of pressing CTRL+W, and you’ll understand why this list exists. A collection of shell tricks-grouped by what works everywhere and what’s Bash/Zsh-speci...

Good publicity by Bergen

Mar. 27th, 2026 11:02 am
[syndicated profile] pinboard_pop_fandom_feed

Posted by barmy_bunk

16,279 words. “That was a disaster. The press is having a field day.”
“It wasn’t my fault,” Tony defends. “That Spider-Guy never knows when to shut up. He distracted me.”
“Your reputation took a blow,” Pepper tells him. “Which will be fixed, of course. I’ve already set it up.”
“Set what up? What, am I going to make flower arrangements with the elderly?”
Pepper slides a piece of paper towards him. “Try an orphan. His name is Peter Parker. His biggest dream is to meet you. But…” She hesitates.
“But?”
“Apparently he doesn’t talk much. Sometimes not at all. Trauma-related.”
“A smart kid who doesn’t talk? Perfect combination. If only all my employees were like that.”
---
Or: Between Peter Parker barely speaking, and Spider-Man being the ultimate chatterbox, how was Tony ever supposed to figure out that they were one and the same person?

// Sweet.
[syndicated profile] pinboard_pop_fandom_feed

Posted by inDenial88

While in search of a roommate, Ilya comes across an interesting Facebook Marketplace listing from Shane Hollander.

UseMyMuse - All The Years Lost

Mar. 27th, 2026 11:02 am
[syndicated profile] pinboard_pop_fandom_feed

Posted by amalthia

I liked the concept, the pacing, and the character voices. I had a fun time reading.
[syndicated profile] pinboard_pop_fandom_feed

Posted by settiai

Gen. "What if Hagrid caught a nasty case of dragonpox, and was unable to introduce Harry Potter into the wizarding world? What if the only other person who Dumbledore trusted to handle the situation, who was not otherwise indisposed, was a very reluctant Severus Snape? What if this one difference created a butterfly effect that would change Harry Potter's life, and the future of the wizarding world forever?

Harry is determined to impress Snape and prove his worth beyond the stupid title and scar that have made him famous.

Draco is determined to impress Harry Potter and become the boy's new best friend.

Severus is determined to survive the headache that is two hyperactive new Slytherins who seem hell-bent on bending the status quo of his entire House, and their common room, to their will."
[syndicated profile] pinboard_pop_fandom_feed

Posted by shamelessly_mkp

Someone’s posted a shaky video from the stands, just behind the whole altercation. It’s close enough to catch the snarl on Rozanov’s face as he charges up the steps. He’s so pretty, Shane thinks faintly. The video starts too late to show what set him off, but it catches the tail end of what the man is yelling, the things he's saying about Shane, before pivoting to calling Rozanov a cunt and bitch and a pussy instead.


Rozanov drops his gloves for Shane. He wishes he could just be grateful, but it feels a little bit like the end of the world. (Words: 8,792)

[ SECRET POST #7021 ]

Mar. 27th, 2026 06:28 pm
case: (Default)
[personal profile] case posting in [community profile] fandomsecrets

⌈ Secret Post #7021 ⌋

Warning: Some secrets are NOT worksafe and may contain SPOILERS.


All spoiler warning/content warning stuff today!


More! )


Notes:

Secrets Left to Post: 00 pages, 00 secrets from Secret Submission Post #1001.
Secrets Not Posted: [ 0 - broken links ], [ 0 - not!secrets ], [ 0 - not!fandom ], [ 0 - too big ], [ 0 - repeat ].
Current Secret Submissions Post: here.
Suggestions, comments, and concerns should go here.

Pokémon Legends Z-A again

Mar. 27th, 2026 06:13 pm
soc_puppet: Words "Baseless Opinion" in orange (Baseless Opinion)
[personal profile] soc_puppet
Still plugging away at this! I've mostly gotten over the motion sickness, but it does pop up from time to time. That said, a new contender for annoying traits has arisen: The absolute supremacy of the night/day changeover. Surely, even if simply challenging someone in the Z-A Royale isn't enough to override the change, being mid-battle with a wild Pokémon should be?

Speaking of things getting interrupted in the Z-A Royale, I'm definitely miffed that another trainer can spot and challenge me when I've already sent my Pokémon to challenge them. Very annoying! I should absolutely get first strike if I've already targeted their 'mon and set mine to attack it! Harrumph!

On the plus side, in addition to the guaranteed shiny Mareep, I've picked up a shiny Alpha Bellsprout and a shiny regular size Weedle, so I'm ahead of the game on shinies! Thank goodness for the shiny announcement side effect, or I never would've noticed the Weedle.

(no subject)

Mar. 27th, 2026 03:56 pm
olivermoss: (Default)
[personal profile] olivermoss
The world is a dark place... so it's good to know that Mischief Management has fucked up again: https://www.reddit.com/r/Barbie/comments/1s57zzo/barbie_nightmarefest/

Yes, the revolting transphobes who tried to use trans people as a shield while their Romance Con melted down over Harry Potter drama? And then went on to get a contract with Mattel? Things have gone so badly this is getting mainstream attention. I can only imagine what Swell Entertainment's notifications look like right now.

This video: https://www.reddit.com/r/Barbie/comments/1s5fbin/we_got_dashconned_yall/ reminds me of some liminal horror games I've seen.

Running time

Mar. 27th, 2026 03:46 pm
mildred_of_midgard: (uhura)
[personal profile] mildred_of_midgard
Another thing I could hardly believe is that I maintained my 10-minute mile! I mean, omitting the time I had to take out after the first loop to go to the bathroom (this is apparently when my intestines wake up), which would count in a real event, but as far as fitness goes...I'm not counting it in training. I would count it if it allowed me to rest my muscles properly, or if I was stopping in order to rest, but mostly it just breaks up my rhythm and makes me have to run a first loop twice, which probably slows me down. (First loop is in many ways the hardest.)

I know I was slowing down toward the end, but one of the main things that kept me going was that I had a pep talk that went, "Even if it's slow, it still counts toward your distance. Running this last mile is better than walking it. See, you just passed someone. Even if you come in over a 10-minute mile average, you can bring the time down on another run. Even if it's slow, you'll still have to cover the rest of the loop to get home *somehow* and might as well run instead of walking, it feels better. Even it's slow, it still counts."

Imagine my shock when I pulled out my phone at the end of the run and had 13 seconds to spare. And if you add in the time it took me to remember that I needed to check my phone ASAP, and the time it took to spin my runner's belt around (I run with my phone behind me) and dig it out of the rolled up pocket (my runner's belt is too large for just a thin shirt and shorts; usually I have something a bit thicker on), my time was probably between 2:09:30 and 2:09:40.

My goal is to have my half marathon speed under 2 hours, because I'd like to have a marathon under 4 hours, and I'd like to have an 11-minute mile for actual difficult terrain with hills and roots and whatnot. But this is a good start for training! I only got back into running 6 weeks ago yesterday, and I only did about 1 mile (also flat). And now I can run 13!

Half marathon

Mar. 27th, 2026 03:30 pm
mildred_of_midgard: (Default)
[personal profile] mildred_of_midgard
I can hardly believe it, but I ran 13 miles this morning, which is the distance of a half marathon. I learned some things from last time:

* Run on a workday. It's far easier to keep running if the pep talk is "The alternative is you go inside and continue devising a test plan for our thumbnail-generating service" and not "The alternative is you go inside and work on the Peter Keith biography and the Old Irish teaching materials."

* Don't worry about distance, and try not to think about the running process at all, until you start to feel physically tired. For the first half of the run, I wasn't an athlete, just an academic out for a morning run. I knew I could do 4-5 loops (5-6.5 miles) without trying, and I spent the time thinking about Peter Keith, Old Irish, work, and whatever other interesting things came to mind.

Only once I started to feel physically tired did I switch into feeling like an athlete. And even then I didn't set particular goals strongly. I had 13 in the back of my mind, but I had lower numbers, too. I even told myself it was fine if I didn't equal last time's distance (although I would be very confused about why if not).

Toward the end, I started setting half-loop goals, and of course doing my usual thing of finding goalposts as often as possible: finish this loop, finish this mile, finish half a loop, etc. It's easier to hit a goal every 5 minutes than every 15 minutes. It really helped that the 9th loop was 11.75 miles, I decided to go on to 12, and then I realized it was just one! more! mile! to a half marathon.

What ultimately helped the most was that ever since I was in junior high, I've wanted to be able to push myself on distance running. I've wanted to be tired and pushing through it. And while I've certainly made myself run when I didn't feel like it before, I've never had this particular sensation before, except a little bit last time.

So I kept telling myself that I had been looking forward to this sensation for 30 years, that I finally had the opportunity, and that I wanted to enjoy it as long as possible. I realized that I have absolutely been quitting too soon and that I've regretted it on my last few runs, and that if I just leaned into enjoying this sensation, I would have the experience and not the regrets.

I mean, the alternative was to work on a test plan for our thumbnail-generation service!

Of course, it definitely helped that 13 miles is half a marathon. I don't know if I would have had this motivation for the number 13 otherwise; I would have stopped at 12 or maybe 12.25.

The biggest problem is my left hamstring. It was *really* unhappy after my last run and for two days afterwards, and it was *really* unhappy after this run. I actually went and lay down for about 15 minutes after this run, learning from last time that a bit of lying down goes a long way. I showered and tried sitting down at the computer on the sofa bed, but my hamstring didn't like it, so I figured instead of tightening my glutes some more, I would lie down flat for a bit. And that did seem to help a bit, but I'm not sure if I should be running beyond 13 miles until I solve this. In fact, one of my pep talks today was that this might be my last long run for a while, and if so, I should make the most of it.

I'll keep an eye on it and see. It had mostly recovered the last 2 days (by which I mean back to normal levels of pain), which is why I went for it again. Cross your fingers it does the same thing again!

ETA: Oh, and my knees were 100%, not a twinge in sight. No stiffness, no discomfort, not even when I switched to waking for my cooldown. They were as strong as they've ever been, I couldn't even tell which one has been the injured one for a year. \o/ I've been very diligently sleeping with my legs extended, sometimes even at the cost of sleep.

2025: Many Things

Mar. 27th, 2026 11:21 pm
schneefink: (Feldgatter)
[personal profile] schneefink
It's very late March, I know, but better late than never. Most of this was written back in December/January.

Fannish things )

Non-fannish things )
[syndicated profile] allthingshorror_feed

Posted by /u/Mgellis

Movie of the day...Night of the Blood Beast (1958).

It’s a shame this movie was made on such a low budget. The concept—an astronaut appears to die when his spaceship crashes on its return to Earth, but he later comes back to life, only to learn an alien has implanted its embryonic offspring in his body—is really interesting.

Also interesting is that the astronaut (who admittedly might be biased at this point, considering his unexpected but intimate connection to the alien) tries to get his colleagues to listen to what it has to say instead of simply killing it. Mind you, since it has trapped them at a remote outpost and killed their project leader, tearing his head off (apparently, it needs the guy’s vocal chords to talk to them), along with…well…violating a square-jawed American man, one can see why they might not trust it.

Unfortunately, this was made on a shoestring budget—anyone surprised that Roger Corman was involved?—and there are issues with both the acting and the editing. The final result is pretty weak.

The Mystery Science Theater 3000 episode, however, is a hoot; I think it’s one of their best episodes. (“I regret nothing!”)

Rating: C-

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Night_of_the_Blood_Beast

submitted by /u/Mgellis
[link] [comments]
pegkerr: (A light in dark places LOTR)
[personal profile] pegkerr
I made three entire collages this week, and rejected the first two of them. I guess they were aesthetically fine, but they were about subjects I'd touched on before, and I was dissatisfied that I was saying anything new and didn't feel like rehashing everything.

My problem was partly that I didn't feel I had much to work with this week, because I fell ill partway through the week, and everything dissolved into that. At first, I was afraid I had contracted Covid, as some of the symptoms matched. Everything became a blur, and I was barely able to care for myself (Eric, bless him, did do an emergency grocery run for me). I did order Covid tests from the drugstore and had them delivered, but I kept testing negative.

After three days of blurred and surreal misery, I recovered. Eventually, I decided it was just a particularly virulent general bug with a heaping side of extremely gross gastrointestinal effects.

Okay, not very interesting to do yet another collage about being sick, either. But what particularly struck me about falling ill this time was how very helpless and isolated I felt. And that, more than the illness itself, is what I tried to capture in the images I used.

I experimented with technical effects to do this, extracting the figure on the bed and mixing it with an image of bare tree branches, and then overlaying the result back over the same position on the bed (keeping the bed itself in clear focus). I then used the same tree branches as a scrim overlay in the background. I was trying to capture the sense of dissolving, the fear that I might actually fade into nothingness and not be able to come back.

I did come back. This time.

I always have a lurking fear that I won't manage to do so the next time.

Image description: Foreground: a woman lies on a bed, either asleep or ill. The bed is focused but the woman is indistinct, as if run through by cracks. Background above the bed: the blurred image of a woman with closed eyes, overlaid by a scrim of semitransparent leafless branches.


Dissolving

12 Dissolving

Click on the links to see the 2026, 2025, 2024, 2023, 2022 and 2021 52 Card Project galleries.
[syndicated profile] allthingshorror_feed

Posted by /u/Potore5

“A new series starring Matthew Rhys from creator Katie Dippold and director Hiro Murai.

Widow’s Bay is a quaint island town 40-miles off the coast of New England. But something lurks beneath the surface. Mayor Tom Loftis (Matthew Rhys) is desperate to revive his struggling community. There’s no wifi, spotty cellular reception, and he must contend with superstitious old locals who believe their island is cursed. He wants these people to respect him. They don’t. They think he is soft and cowardly. And he is. But Loftis is determined to build a better future for his teenage son and turn the island into a tourist destination. Miraculously, Loftis succeeds: tourists are finally coming. Unfortunately, the locals were right. After decades of calm, the old stories that seemed too ludicrous to be true start happening again. “Widow’s Bay” blends genuine horror with an undercurrent of character-driven comedy.

Rhys stars alongside an ensemble cast led by Kate O'Flynn, Stephen Root, Kingston Rumi Southwick, Kevin Caroll and Dale Dickey.

submitted by /u/Potore5
[link] [comments]
[syndicated profile] allthingshorror_feed

Posted by /u/BitByAGhost

For me, 1992. It was Candyman as the top ranked Horror movie for that year. Alien 3, Death becomes her and Pet Sematary 2 came out as well. I would have to agree on the rankings for 1992 with Candyman being #1 in horror.

What about you?

submitted by /u/BitByAGhost
[link] [comments]

Profile

beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
beccaelizabeth

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 23 4 56 7
8 9 10111213 14
15 16 17 18 1920 21
2223 2425 26 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:44 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios