beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
[personal profile] beccaelizabeth
I did all the Tuesday jobs, plus some of the Monday jobs and a bit of Sunday... so it's not a surprise I'm proper tired now.
But that means I get apple pastries to eat and nice things to watch.

I discovered the gap in my Doctor Who collection when we were doing a Doctor/Master rewatch, and only picked up the Doctor Who: Colony in Space DVD on Sunday.

The Master does not turn up for aaaaaages and ages. So that bits boring.
But then when he does he proposes to the Doctor. Rule the universe together! Be benevolent with your bit if you want!
And by that point in the story he needs nothing from him. He thinks he's won. He has the super weapon and he can do whatever he wants.
And what he wants is the Doctor.

You can read the Doctor as Asexual pretty easy, but you can't make sense of the Doctor and the Master without figuring they feel something pretty intense about each other. / is the easiest way to say that. But 'own the universe with me' is a bit beyond PWP /

I mean he doesn't ask to move in together, he just declares ownership of everything and offers the Doctor half.

And the Doctor has to think about it. Before deciding absolute power is evil. Because that's an interesting pitch, for a moment there.

So for all it was sloooooow, I <3 it just for that bit.



However, the miners vs colonist farmers vs primitives bit is not a favourite.
I mean it's good and twisty, it's just I have strong objections to a version of Earth that can just hand out inhabited planets for colonisation, and a version of the Doctor who doesn't object. Plus the thing where the 'happy' ending is the farmers win. Because the original inhabitants all die. I mean, genocide that leaves a nice lot of farmland open, that's a classic, it's just a classic of evil. At least the miners were evil right out in the open. Just the story set it up so only the miners were evil, rather than everyone trying to take the planet away from the actual owners.
Colonialism yaay?

Also the bit where the colonists had to feed the primitives was just stupid. Do thanksgiving right or go home.



Plus the solution to the scientific mystery of why the crops kept dying means the humans were really deeply stupid. And also dead. Radiation? And they didn't measure it? And they've been there a year trying to grow stuff. They're pretty much screwed. Plus I was thinking at the Doctor when he left the TARDIS that he should check for radiation, and he didn't, at least out loud. You'd think he'd learn after Skaro, and that was ages ago.



Also Jo Grant was super useless and got kidnapped by EVERYone. That's least fun.



Plot not a favourite, but that one speech with the Doctor and the Master is plenty worth the couple of hours watching the whole thing.

Date: 2016-05-03 08:07 pm (UTC)
nostalgia: (delgado!master reading)
From: [personal profile] nostalgia
I remember almost nothing about that one other than how sloooooooow it is and how long I had to go without Delgado showing up.

Date: 2016-05-03 08:18 pm (UTC)
nostalgia: (Default)
From: [personal profile] nostalgia
Is this the one that they announce the Master in the first five minute and then you have to wait like 4 episodes for him to show up?

Date: 2016-05-03 08:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kerkevik-2014.livejournal.com
Did not know Colony In Space was on DVD! It was one of my favourite of the novelisations.

kerk

Profile

beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
beccaelizabeth

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 23 4 56 7
8 9 10111213 14
15 16 17 18 1920 21
2223 2425 26 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 08:28 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios