beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
[personal profile] beccaelizabeth
I thought I kind of hated that
rather a lot
there were moments when the hating it made this burning feeling in my insides, which doesn't generally happen when I watch TV

And then my computer wouldn't let me connect to the internet for about a quarter hour, until I'd started to get reconciled to it. A little.

... there's moments I liked, there's moments that were exactly what I hoped for, there's moments that are on crack the *bad* way, and... I kind of think it's a godawful mess of a story. Right now. I don't know, I might rethink on rewatch.

but...



The Doctor's three words - I forgive you. And he was going to give up on wandering so he could care for the Master! I'm not even thinking from a slashy angle, that was the exact actually-getting-treatment ending I thought was impossible on TV.

But I knew from the moment we saw the bruise on Mrs Master how he was going to end.
Because he don't get away with that.
... except... we get the Ming moment at the end, with his ring in the fire
and the Master has been reduced to ash before, if you believe the TV movie
so I've concluded it's more complicated than that

basically we got all three endings, we got the Master treated, killed, and escaped. Which, you know, covers the bases. I can live with that.

The AU spin off alone - Doctor and Master in the TARDIS!


"As if I would ask her to kill" worked nicely. The bit with the chemical weapon was making me feel ick, it didn't fit, so then they payoff by making it a fakeout. That was okay.


But... the bits I hate?
One Year Later
and then de-Paradox that

because the 'all a dream!' ending is just... eeew.


Changing all of history:
"I'm a Time Lord, I have that right" is one more line that makes the Master = the Doctor only really messed up.


The Toclafane = Utopia. Which was one of the two possibles everyone could see. But I hadn't guessed the reveal, the "skies made of diamonds" bit. That was dead creepy. That was good.
Ageing the Doctor up until he's tiny kept the other thing possible for ages. Nice.

The actual weapon? "Prayer" is what the Master calls it... Okay, so now we've actually got a lonely god. He gets power from prayers. *facepalm*.
But... the whole human race got together and thought good thoughts and beat the Master. That's... actually I'm still stuck on *facepalm*, sorry. Humans beat the bad guy, yes, but...

So the power of a story sent around the world got everyone thinking the same word at the same time, partly because the Master had to show off on TV to everyone so they were all watching the same show. That kind of worked, yeah.


Okay, the thing I have a problem with? Wasn't this *science* fiction, not religion?

Apparently not.

Not that psychic energy is anything new...

bugger it, I feel like I should be able to be all yaay about the gestalt solution, but I'm not.



Jack's story - so he spent a year getting chained up and tortured to death and all he thought about was his team.
... I have no problem with that.
And he has a *choice*. And he *chooses* to go back with his team.
We will have a much better Jack next season in Torchwood. And whoever he dates will too.
... yeah, every shipper translated 'team' to their favourite name.



I'm going to have to DL this Confidential and actually watch it. I'm not really watching cause I'm still kind of wrestling with the episode.

I'd *like* to like it. It's much more fun if you can play along in a way that makes the story good.

"After the President was killed but just before the spheres arrived" - the moment they got rewound to. Makes sense, when the paradox machine kicked off. So... aliens killed the US President and nobody knows why. And everyone on the Valiant... they remember, and how many were there? And what happened to people that got killed on there?

The Valiant staying the same I can buy because it's obviously wired in to the TARDIS.



The "You're better than him" bit is a good decision, but again it made it so obvious that her in the red dress wouldn't be.


The Master dying in the Doctor's arms while the Doctor cries... Everything between those two after he gets youthed again struck me as perfect. Everything from "I know you" to "I win". Brilliant, exactly right, yaays. And slashy as all hell naturally.

And he's so *sad*. Bad!
"He can save everyone, but he can't save his own people, again."
Yeah, good to know DT gets it.


The Master chooses not to regenerate... stop the drums...
so the *Doctor* offers the treatment option, but the *story* takes the 'treatment via suicide' option.
Which I would *hate beyond redemption* if it weren't for the Ming moment with the ring, which I choose to believe is the Master's backup plan.


... Acting that stuff must be *so weird*. He's going all grief stricken and crying and stuff. In front of all that bunch of people. And then they say cut and he starts over.

"David Tennants manly stubble in my eye" Break the mood! LOL



And everyone leaves him. I mean each leaving makes sense - even the Master suicide almost makes sense - but then the Doctor ends up completely left. By everyone.
Just to give him even more emo.


Martha choosing to leave in the terms she expresses - she's going to heal people, and she isn't going to hang around pining after someone who isn't giving her anything back - that's great. That's brilliant.
I imagine quite a lot of people are going to hate her.
But I love it.

It's like they're saying to everyone "er, hang on, how about how he treats her?" and... yeah, good to notice.

Unrequited love. I mean if Rose wasn't requited but still stayed like she did, in the stupidest situations, then Rose is the dumb one now. Because this makes sense.

Martha did all the work and the hero stuff and now she graduates. That's what I reckon. If she comes back - when she comes back - it's more on her terms. She saved the world. With brains and effort and a year of work.

Martha did a lot of work. I love that.



One thing that did piss me off - last episode Martha's mum and dad getting back together was a sign of the apocalypse, now it's... what, some kind of payoff? Reward for Martha? Sign the world was upside down? I don't know. It just really pisses me off that 'reunite the parents' is even a thing, because it's like saying they're *parents*, they exist in relation to the offspring even though they're grown up now, and they should stay in that relation.
So I'm actually hoping that Martha's parents run far away from each other and get new and healthy relationships with appropriate new partners.
Because then they exist as their own selves.

Getting together because they shared this traumatic experience and all hate the Master would be really messed up.


It's like, while I was watching it, I quite a lot hated quite a lot of that.
But now I can turn it around in my head until I don't.
I think.

I'll have to watch it again and see.

The one thing though, the thing someone said in a comment here possibly because they didn't *believe* it was a spoiler... Jack as the Face of Boe?
... that would be *facepalm* of the highest order.

The thing is... Jack heard Martha mention the Face of Boe. Jack was in the year 200100, about a century after Boe was a newsworthy celebrity. Jack knew Rose after she'd met the Face of Boe.

and Jack has had a year of hanging there in chains
getting really really bored

I mean, really. Seriously. That has to be boring.

How often would anyone get the chance to play a joke like that?


So while it's clearly a joke from writers to fans, and probably the thing JB and DT thought was so cool and fun, I can read it as a joke from Jack on the Doctor.

Because then my brain doesn't break.

And also it gets funnier.




Sure, I can live with it that Jack could live five billion years and then die in the Doctor's arms - and yeah I can get angsty fic bunnies where Jack sees the Doctor and Rose at the end of the world all those years after/before they met - but it don't track. He looked the same on the news and on the hospital planet. He didn't age in between those. So the idea he could just age into it in the mere 200000 years before the news item?
No.


I like Jack going back to his team. That was good. I'll keep that part thanks.
The other was a very good joke to play on him.




Okay, I appear to have found ways to think about all the parts that make me not hate them.
And since there were parts I started out liking a lot, combine it all and I could even end up... liking it? Maybe?

... so many pieces left me so *facepalm*. I don't know. It's a lot of work to have fun with this.

Re: PS

Date: 2007-07-01 12:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] donutsweeper.livejournal.com
I agree completely with your assessment of Jack in this episode. He was a tool, nothing more!
(And I'm with you on the idea that Jack=Face of Boe is a joke, otherwise by brain would explode)

Re: PS

Date: 2007-07-01 09:20 pm (UTC)
unfeathered: (Default)
From: [personal profile] unfeathered
Totally agree about there being absolutely no point to having Jack in this episode. I almost wish he hadn't been in it at all.

And I love your 'joke' theory about the FAce of Boe. Please, let that be true!

Re: PS

Date: 2007-07-02 01:35 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] alixtii.livejournal.com
Well, Jack's broke naturally, and then the Doctor fixed it, so that sort of makes it his responsibility.

Date: 2007-06-30 10:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mara-202.livejournal.com
(Here via [livejournal.com profile] torch_wood.)

So while it's clearly a joke from writers to fans, and probably the thing JB and DT thought was so cool and fun, I can read it as a joke from Jack on the Doctor.
Oooh, thank you! Now I can hate the whole Jack = Face of Boe thing a bit less. When I read the speculation/spoiler I thought it was so cracky that it was never going to happen. Thinking of it as just a joke from Jack makes me much happier, haha.

Date: 2007-07-01 12:12 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] doylefan22.livejournal.com
So the idea he could just age into it in the mere 200000 years before the news item?

Of course the get out clause for that is that it is never made entirely clear whether or not the Face of Boe had the ability to time travel himself...

Profile

beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
beccaelizabeth

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 23 4 56 7
8 9 10111213 14
15 16 17 18 1920 21
2223 2425 26 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 02:26 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios