beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
[personal profile] beccaelizabeth
... I should have icon of that...

Am watching 'Ultraworld'.
... am giggling a lot.
Really, who thought this was a good idea?

The only fun bit was something they didn't do. "The memory tubes, I just hope they're in the right order" "you mean you could have got them..." ? Avon in Cally body and vice versa, much LOLs.

... jokes do not usually break brains. Well the internet breaks brains sometimes but not quite that literal.


Also today I have watched:

True Blood, which has interesting bits but also a lot of sex and a rather slow things-happen... er, lots of things happen yet it still feels slow? I don't know. I think compared to Buffy etc there they have something happen and be wrapped up every week, where True Blood just has happen happen happen, nothing wrapping, not even small things. It's not bad, but it doesn't grab me. Maybe if I had the whole set and could watch them like one big story. Week in between makes slooooow.

Misfits, which has apparently had a lot of episodes already. The one I saw was a time travel story that played through on its setup and wasn't something any other show could have told. Fair enough. But it's also young, messy, and with lots of sex. I don't know as I'm at all interested.

Both True Blood and Misfits are telling story with the sex stuff, not just splatting some extra sex in at random, so that's fair enough. I'm just more interested in a well choreographed fight scene.
I think I'll watch a Jet Li movie next.

Batman: Brave & Bold. Blue Beetle, the teenager with armor suit version, leering at Huntress, who was flirting with Batman. I was not amused. I mean comics do little enough interesting with women as is, making them the lust objects of teenagers quite so explicitly is really quite irritating. Even if there was a moral where he totally screwed up because of it. It's still not her story.
Now I have noticed the happy cartoon has poor representation of women the happy will fall out.

I also watched more Blakes 7.
... Cally is more interesting when she's actually having things to do and not wandering around possessed a lot. Also it helps if the crew do things. Acting as a team may be a bit much to ask of this lot but sitting around silently staring while Avon is butch kind of doesn't work.
The version of B7 in my head is the good bits version. This is why it's so long between rewatches. I watch and they've left all the other bits in.

I have watched the first 2 eps of the BBC's 'Paradox', and decided there's no reason to continue. It is boring, the men outnumber the women, there seems to be a love triangle brewing, and I'm just not that interested in any of the three. Also the basic setup of trying to prevent a disaster isn't SF enough for my interest.

Which is the same problem Flash Forward is having for me. It continues to reveal interesting and throw twists, but it's not carrying me. I think I'm bored.

I watched Dollhouse. I think four episodes so far? It's interesting, I'm interested in the characters, I like some of them and like to watch the rest, there's both one off and arc story going on, and it is playing through on a SF setup. Shiny.
... it is also encouraging my more evil tendencies. I mean, I'm a writer. The idea I could write a character and then have them walk around doing exactly like I wrote? Er, yes, I'm a scriptwriter... or trying to be... so the idea of taking it that one step further? While entirely aware this is evil, it is a very absorbing idea.
Finding it easiest to empathise with the most clearly evil characters is, you know, uncomfortable.
... yet fun.
Oh dear.

I think I've talked myself out of liking pretty much every show on TV lately. And quite a lot of my DVD collection. I don't appear to be fannish about anything much. I mean, Doctor Who, always, but with the absolutely hating the last special, not liking the one before, tiny amounts of new canon, and really hating Children of Earth, I'm not looking forward to the next episode, I'm looking through my fingers with great trepidation. And not because I expect it to be scary like Daleks, because I expect them to mess it up. I go play in audios instead. I liked many of the Sarah Jane Adventures but they were all done very quickly, and the last one was kind of useless. So, no fandom. Nothing I'm reading the fanfic for.

I feel kind of like I'm fading out.

This would be the perfect opportunity to go get a 3D life or something, but I can't find anything to do.

I should start writing another script.

And find something interesting.

Date: 2009-12-04 03:26 pm (UTC)
ext_52603: (Baby!TARDIS)
From: [identity profile] msp-hacker.livejournal.com
BTW "The Night of the Huntress" is one of the worst of the series. Unfortunately, I don't think the representation of female superheroes gets any better.

I think I've talked myself out of liking pretty much every show on TV lately. And quite a lot of my DVD collection.

Yeah, you have seem to have been looking for something that doesn't exist. I can't really think of any sci-fi or fantasy themed show that was not *fail somewhere. Even my beloved "Manhunter" comic, it has racefail has in representation category.

Profile

beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
beccaelizabeth

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 23 4 56 7
8 9 10111213 14
15 16 17 18 1920 21
2223 2425 26 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 10:03 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios