Aug. 21st, 2005

beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
BSG 2-05 Read more... )

Outside the cut I will say that I found Starbuck entirely sufficiently well rounded enough from first season. Her strengths and weaknesses were the same - Outside the box is where she lives. Completely nuts and completely competent at once. Nothing needed to be added to that. *This* sure as *hell* didn't need to be added to that.

Right now, I am very annoyed. I stopped the episode in the middle for significant time and I very nearly didn't finish watching but the spoilers made it sound like the episode pulled itself together again. But no, I still hated it by the end.

I don't even know if I'm overreacting. I just hated it.
beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
First of all, that vs in the title doesn't seem right to me.
I've seen a couple people talking about it and what it felt like was they hadn't recognised what the actual genre difference is. See First Times are your classic Romance, but Established Relationship stories don't have to be.

To make a story you have a situation, a problem, and a resolution.

Romance, situation is you have (at least) two people, problem is they aren't together, resolution is they get together.

*or* you get something that is what draws me to the Giles/Ethan stories - *getting* together isn't the problem, *staying* together may well involve altering ones fundamental perceptions of the universe.
Read more... )
Situation - together, Problem - not happy, Resolution - something to make relationship happy. That's an established relationship romance. Any story that lacks that isn't going to have the same kind of good stuff as a first time story, because not the same genre.



Okay, having written all that, I'm not sure its even worth saying, but its 0217 and I'm surely not going to write anything better tonight. I'll post it and hope its vaguely coherent.
beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
Played Robo Rally for many hours today.

The things I like about RPGs are the world building, the character building, the character interactions, the possibility of progress, all that good story stuff. And teamwork. And also hanging around with friends chatting about whatever comes to mind.

Robo Rally lacks all of that. I mean even the chatting - practically all conversation is reduced to trying to figure out the next move. And teamwork is replaced by zapping all the other robots. And while you can get add on bits for bots, it doesn't feel much like progress because they tend to get zapped away again.

And also I'm bad at it. All the twists and turns and figuring out where you will be. I can never remember all the different board pieces and I don't always understand when they're explained to me. I do dumb things from getting the rules wrong. Its just annoying. No fun playing what I'm bad at.

But aside from that, I went and hung out with friends all afternoon. Cool.

Profile

beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
beccaelizabeth

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 23 4 56 7
8 9 10111213 14
15 16 17 18 1920 21
2223 2425 26 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 09:32 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios