Losers

Aug. 11th, 2011 05:09 pm
beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
[personal profile] beccaelizabeth
So, after running the laundry, hanging up the laundry, washing the hand wash stuff, deciding to wash the hand wash stuff again, and wiping everything in sight with the citrus antibacterial cleaning wipes (arrgh arrgh this is why I have a cleaner clan all the things attack argh)

I decided to put on a DVD.

I got the nice new DVD. The Losers, with a cardboard outside, a nice plastic wrap, clean new DVD.
I took off the cardboard, I took off the plastic, I tried to open the case.
... bastard bastard thing no will open.
It has a red thing in it. I cannot see how to remove the red thing. I pull at the box and use tweezers and eventually break things enough to open the box.
Then the DVD won't come out.
The red thing is quite clever fiendish tricksy and makes it so the DVD is stuck.
I now double cannot see how to make the DVD come out.
after checking with the internet I discover the how involves the shop removing it before they sell me the thing. but how are they supposed to when it's wrapped in plastic? Unwrap my purchase for me? I bought it at the supermarket on the self service checkout! I don't remember the machine even age checking me. It certainly didn't do any message on the lines of 'by the way, simply paying us money isn't proof enough you now own the disc you just bought, we must make you go find a human with a cunning machine who will double check this for us'. It didn't even bother to say 'good luck' and do an evil laugh. checkout machines are no fun like that. It just sold me the DVD.
After checking the internet some more, I discover the other clever way involves two magnets, one of a strength such as you find removed from a hard drive.
... my fridge magnets don't cut it.
The final suggestion of the internet? Wanton destruction.
... that I could have figured out on my own.
I crack the case in the right place and finally extract the red thing.

:-p to it!


You know the really really stupid thing?
The DVD cost £4.

Why the hell bother to make things so sodding difficult for £4?


This is why people download.

:-p DVD security
:-p to DRM while I'm at it.


And I don't even know if I like this film!

... it has Idris Elba and Zoe Saldana, I'll like it even if I have to turn the sound off to like it.


... hang on, I plugged my headphones in to the TV, they're around here somewhere... *facepalm*

Profile

beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
beccaelizabeth

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 23 4 56 7
8 9 10111213 14
15 16 17 18 1920 21
2223 2425 26 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:35 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios