beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
[personal profile] beccaelizabeth
I have read all the John/Rodney m/m >10,000 words where No Archive Warnings Apply on AO3.
All.
Again.
Also all the Sam/Rodney, which took about an hour, because nobody likes that. Or possibly the het lives somewhere else? I don't know, I can't recall having sought out het before.

It looks like the advanced search should be able to give me all the Jack/Daniel in the last two months (since I finished it all on 1st september) or all the John/Rodney in the last two months in case I missed any, of >10K words even, but I must not be poking it in quite the right way because it doesn't quite do that. Also it doesn't turn into a list I can sort by date or by word count, so I have to look at all the pages. But if it I could make it work, that would be excellent, because if there was anything new I could find it.

It's possible it would behave differently this morning cause it changed while I was kudosing the last fics last night.

From reading All The Fic I have developed opinions on what is in and out of character for J/R (and I don't watch the show), decided that Teyla and Ronon getting smushed together for mathematical tidyness is even more wrong than when J/D fic does it to Sam and Teal'c, and realised fandom really really really doesn't like Keller. It doesn't bother to say anything bad about Katie whateveritwas, cause they broke up, but fanfic has to break Rodney and Keller up a lot. If fanfic is anything to go by Keller is kind of delusional about Rodney's 'real' personality and only fancied Rodney while his brain was being eaten, and Rodney only wanted her because mid life crisis ohnoes of last chance to get married. And there's a lot about age gaps that isn't very complimentary. The nicest breakup was when they decided they were at different life stages, ie Rodney wanted commitment and children and Keller wanted to go back to Earth and play some more. It's weird. I mean, in fanfic, it's the cardinal sin to want to change Rodney. But he's kind of a dick. It's, like, his defining characteristic. He has changed during the show, right? He gets notably more useful than he ever was on SG1. But he's an intellectual bully who uses his giant brain to bludgeon others into submission. He snaps and whines and talks worst case and keeps everyone on edge all the time. More mellow is not, like, emasculating him, it's suggesting he could possibly get better results without grinding people down all the time. ... another opinion formed solely by fanfic. Fanfic by people that presumably like Rodney. Who consider the insults one of his better features, somehow. Possibly because as a writer there's no chance said insults would be aimed at them? Eh. I like fic about Rodney finding true love because if he can anyone can. Same with John, the emotionally illiterate. But they both have room for improvement, and it's not actually evil to suggest that.

Possibly a reason to break up, but not evil.

I like fics from later in SGA rather than earlier. Early fics have too much of love at first sight and crushes formed by shared danger to be quite what I was looking for. Later fics have these two weird guys who don't quite get along with anyone else but just fit together, with the video golf and the radio cars and the games and the DVD watching and the arguments about geek culture, and the understanding the math and blowing things up real good together. Like they've built a life together, they may as well be shagging too. Actually one of the last fics I read had them get married first and then start doing sex. Which, if they wait until after canon to get together, seems to be how that was working. It's nice.

Also I like fic about Atlantis going independent, or ones about how they're Doing It Wrong.
Also fic where Ronon is, like, an actual person, not just really tall muscle.
And fic where Teyla has her own agenda and makes decisions and stuff, and in no way shape or form spends her spare time trying to get John and Rodney to shag, because really, better things to do.
But I think I need different search terms to find good stuff about those two.
... I really hope there's more good stuff about those two than I've already read, cause there's only a handful I've seen.

Fandom's continued fascination with the white guys is kind of awkward.


I need a new fandom to read in. I don't know where to start this time. Read something at random? Find a character who isn't a white guy and read all about them? What am I looking for in my fic reading experience anyway? More than I get on TV. More queer, more interesting women, more integration of sex into lives. Plus I never voluntarily read anything that doesn't have like aliens and demons and saving the world a lot. Doesn't really aim the reading much though, just from that.


Maybe I should do writing again. I could write more stuff that's more like what I keep hoping to read. Just not in fanfic, so much.

I'm weirdly not in fandoms at the moment. I mean, I'm reading on AO3 in a steadily omnivorous way, but I'm not watching episodes of anything, I'm not reading comics, I've not read many books I particularly liked lately, and I definitely don't read much through fandom newsletters or interact much with other fans. Doctor Who watching when in season is about it, and Doctor Who is less a fandom and more the background oxygen of life.

I don't know. I'm just kind of cranky and dissatisfied lately.



Maybe I should do the reading I need to do for college before Wednesday. And the reading I need to do before Friday. It seems quite likely it will be Friday before I'm finished with that.

Profile

beccaelizabeth: my Watcher tattoo in blue, plus Be in red Buffy style font (Default)
beccaelizabeth

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 23 4 56 7
8 9 10111213 14
15 16 17 18 1920 21
2223 2425 26 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:51 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios